New Jersey State Personnel Standards

Audiologist

Discipline Audiologist
License/Certificate Audiologist
State Department New Jersey Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology Advisory Committee, Division of Consumer Affairs, Department of Law Public Safety
State Department Hyperlink http://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/aud
Type of License/Certificate Licensure/Certificate
Age Range Birth - Death
Degree Level Requirement Doctorate's
Licensure Specific Curriculum/Coursework For bachelors and masters level of applicant, they shall complete 75 hours of academic credit dealing with the normal aspects of human communication, development and disorders thereof and clinical techniques for evaluation and management of such disorders. The 75 hours of academic credit shall consist of: 1) At least 27 hours in basic science courses as follows: i) Biological/physical science: three hours; ii) College-level mathematics: three hours; iii) Behavioral and/or social sciences: six hours; and iv) Basic human communication processes, including course work in the anatomic and physiological bases of speech, language and hearing; the physical and psychosocial bases of speech, language and hearing; and the linguistic and psycholinguistic aspects of speech, language and hearing: 15 hours; 2) At least 36 hours in courses that concern the nature, prevention, evaluation and treatment of speech, language and hearing disorders that primarily affect children and hearing disorders that primarily affect adults. At least 30 of the 36 hours shall be in courses for which graduate credit was received, at least 21 of which shall be in the area in which licensure is sought. In addition: For a license in audiology, at least 30 of the 36 hours shall be in audiology of which at least six hours shall be in hearing disorders and hearing evaluation, and at least six hours shall be in habilitative/rehabilitative procedures with individuals who have a hearing impairment. At least six hours shall be in speech-language pathology, at least three hours in speech disorders and at least three hours in language disorders; 3) Twelve hours in any field, which may include courses that are related to the clinical practice of audiology.
Licensure Dependent on an Exam? National Teachers' Examinations in audiology administered and set by the Educational Testing Service, 600

Deaf or Hard of Hearing: Oral/Aural Communication

Discipline Deaf and Hard of Hearing Specialist
License/Certificate Deaf or Hard of Hearing: Oral/Aural Communication
State Department New Jersey Department of Education
State Department Hyperlink http://www.state.nj.us/cgi-bin/education/license/endorsement.pl?string=999&maxhits=1000&field=2
Type of License/Certificate Licensure/Certificate
Age Range 3 yrs - 12th grade
Degree Level Requirement Bachelor's
Licensure Specific Curriculum/Coursework A program at a regionally accredited college or university that includes a range of 21 to 27 credit hours of formal instruction in the following topics: i. Philosophical, historical and legal issues in the education of students who are deaf/hard of hearing; ii. Characteristics of students who are deaf/hard of hearing; iii. Standardized and functional assessment of students who are deaf/hard of hearing; iv. Strategies for the development of language and literacy of students who are deaf/hard of hearing; v. Curriculum planning, learning environments, modifications and materials for students who are deaf/hard of hearing. vi. Inclusive education practices, positive behavioral supports, communication and collaborative partnerships; vii. Speech, applied audiology, assistive listening devices and assistive technology; viii. American Sign Language, deaf culture and communication philosophies; and ix. Transition planning, program services and agencies available for students who are deaf/hard of hearing.
Licensure Require Specific Field or Clinical Work? 1. A range of 21 to 27 semester hour credits of instruction in areas listed in N.J.A.C. 6A:9-11.3(g)2. The professional component of the undergraduate program shall, beginning in the sophomore year, provide students with practical experiences in a special education setting. These opportunities shall increase in intensity and duration as the student advances through the program and culminate with a special education student teaching experience; and 2. The student teaching experience shall include a special education component.
Additional requirements specific to Part C? Special Educator/Hearing Impaired/Deafness: Bachelor's degree or higher; AND certified by the NJ Department of Education as a Teacher with an endorsement as a Teacher of the Deaf or Hard of Hearing pursuant to N.J.S.A. and N.J.A.C.; AND has at least one year of documented professional experience with individuals from birth to five years of age who have developmental delays and disabilities; OR at least six (6) credits in infant and toddler or early childhood development.
Alternative Route Provisional or temporary The Alternate Route program is a non-traditional teacher preparation program designed for those individuals who HAVE NOT completed a formal teacher preparation program at an accredited college or university, but wish to obtain the necessary training to become a NJ certified teacher. CE (Alternate Route) - The Certificate of Eligibility (CE) is a credential with lifetime validity issued to an individual who has NOT completed a teacher preparation program, but who has met the basic requirements for certification including academic study and applicable test requirements. The CE authorizes an individual to seek and accept employment in NJ public schools requiring certification. Praxis II Test Requirement - There is no Praxis test requirement for this certificate. 24 Hour Requirement - Effective October 31, 2009, eligibility for the elementary school (K-5) Certificate of Eligibility or instructional area Certificate of Eligibility requires candidates to demonstrate knowledge of basic pedagogical skills appropriate to the area of endorsement prior to the issuance of a certificate. The requirement may be met through successful completion of a minimum of 24 hours of study offered through a state-approved provider or through approved coursework at a NJ State-approved college as documented on a transcript.

Deaf or Hard of Hearing: Sign Language Communication

Discipline Deaf and Hard of Hearing Specialist
License/Certificate Deaf or Hard of Hearing: Sign Language Communication
State Department New Jersey Department of Education
State Department Hyperlink http://www.state.nj.us/cgi-bin/education/license/endorsement.pl?string=999&maxhits=1000&field=2
Type of License/Certificate Licensure/Certificate
Age Range 3 yrs - 12th grade
Degree Level Requirement Bachelor's
Licensure Specific Curriculum/Coursework A program at a regionally accredited college or university that includes a range of 21 to 27 credit hours of formal instruction in the following topics: i. Philosophical, historical and legal issues in the education of students who are deaf/hard of hearing; ii. Characteristics of students who are deaf/hard of hearing; iii. Standardized and functional assessment of students who are deaf/hard of hearing; iv. Strategies for the development of language and literacy of students who are deaf/hard of hearing; v. Curriculum planning, learning environments, modifications, and materials for students who are deaf/hard of hearing; vi. Inclusive education practices, positive behavioral supports, communication and collaborative partnerships; vii. Speech, applied audiology, assistive listening devices, and assistive technology; viii. American Sign Language, deaf culture and communication philosophies; and ix. Transition planning, program services and agencies available for students who are deaf/hard of hearing.
Licensure Require Specific Field or Clinical Work? 1. A range of 21 to 27 semester hour credits of instruction in areas listed in N.J.A.C. 6A:9-11.3(h)2. The professional component of the undergraduate program shall, beginning in the sophomore year, provide students with practical experiences in a special education setting. These opportunities shall increase in intensity and duration as the student advances through the program and culminate with a special education student teaching experience; and 2. The student teaching experience shall include a special education component.
Licensure Dependent on an Exam? There is no Praxis test requirement for this certificate. Current regulations require applicants for the Teacher of Deaf or Hard of Hearing: Sign Language Communication endorsement to achieve a score of intermediate or above on the Sign Language Proficiency Interview (SLPI).
Additional requirements specific to Part C? Special Educator/Hearing Impaired/Deafness: Bachelor's degree or higher; AND certified by the NJ Department of Education as a Teacher with an endorsement as a Teacher of the Deaf or Hard of Hearing pursuant to N.J.S.A. and N.J.A.C.; AND has at least one year of documented professional experience with individuals from birth to five years of age who have developmental delays and disabilities; OR at least six (6) credits in infant and toddler or early childhood development.
Alternative Route Provisional or temporary The Alternate Route program is a non-traditional teacher preparation program designed for those individuals who HAVE NOT completed a formal teacher preparation program at an accredited college or university, but wish to obtain the necessary training to become a NJ certified teacher. CE (Alternate Route) - The Certificate of Eligibility (CE) is a credential with lifetime validity issued to an individual who has NOT completed a teacher preparation program, but who has met the basic requirements for certification including academic study and applicable test requirements. The CE authorizes an individual to seek and accept employment in NJ public schools requiring certification. Praxis II Test Requirement - There is no Praxis test requirement for this certificate. 24 Hour Requirement - Effective October 31, 2009, eligibility for the elementary school Certificate of Eligibility or instructional area Certificate of Eligibility requires candidates to demonstrate knowledge of basic pedagogical skills appropriate to the area of endorsement prior to the issuance of a certificate. The requirement may be met through successful completion of a minimum of 24 hours of study offered through a state-approved provider or through approved coursework at a NJ State-approved college as documented on a transcript. If submitting a Certificate of Completion for the 24 hour pre-service to meet this requirement, only original documentation will be accepted. Sign Language Proficiency Interview (SLPI) - Current regulations require applicants for the Teacher of Deaf or Hard of Hearing: Sign Language Communication endorsement to achieve a score of intermediate or above on the Sign Language Proficiency Interview (SLPI).

Early Childhood Educator

Discipline Early Childhood Educator
License/Certificate Preschool through Grade 3
State Department New Jersey Department of Education
State Department Hyperlink http://www.state.nj.us/cgi-bin/education/license/endorsement.pl?string=999&maxhits=1000&field=2
Type of License/Certificate Licensure/Certificate
Age Range 3 yrs - 3rd grade
Degree Level Requirement Bachelor's
Licensure Specific Curriculum/Coursework 1. For certification as a P-3 teacher, completion of a major in the liberal arts, sciences, or a minimum of 60 liberal arts credits is required. A Liberal arts major means any college major such as philosophy, history, literature, sociology, science, mathematics, or world language that is intended primarily to provide general knowledge and to develop an individual's general intellectual capacities to reason and evaluate, as opposed to professional or vocational skills. The final determination as to which courses will be counted towards the subject matter is based on professional and content standards found in the NJ Licensing Code. All credits must appear on a regionally accredited 2 OR 4 year college/university transcript. 2. Physiology and Hygiene Requirement by completing a course such as biology, health or nutrition that appears on a regionally accredited 2 or 4 year college or university transcript.
Licensure Require Specific Field or Clinical Work? 1. The professional component of the undergraduate program shall, beginning in the sophomore year, provide students with practical experience in a preschool or kindergarten setting and in a first, second or third grade setting. These opportunities shall increase in intensity and duration as the student advances through the program and culminate with an early childhood education student teaching experience; and 2. The student teaching experience shall be in an early childhood education setting.
Licensure Dependent on an Exam? PRAXIS II: SUBJECT ASSESSMENT/ SPECIALITY AREA TESTS REQUIRED FOR LICENSURE-Early Childhood: Content Knowledge (0022 or 5022), 159 Physiology and Hygiene Requirement; This requirement may be completed by completing a 35 question True/False test administered in the county office of education (can take classes to waive this test).
Alternative Route Provisional or temporary The Alternate Route program is a non-traditional teacher preparation program designed for those individuals who HAVE NOT completed a formal teacher preparation program at an accredited college or university, but wish to obtain the necessary training to become a NJ certified teacher. CE (Alternate Route) - The Certificate of Eligibility (CE) is a credential with lifetime validity issued to an individual who has NOT completed a teacher preparation program, but who has met the basic requirements for certification including academic study and applicable test requirements. The CE authorizes an individual to seek and accept employment in NJ public schools requiring certification. Degree Requirement; A minimum of a Bachelor's degree is required from a regionally accredited college/university. Cumulative GPA Requirement; New Jersey requires that candidates for certification achieve a cumulative GPA of at least 2.75 when a GPA of 4.00 equals an A grade for students graduating on or after September 1, 2004 (2.50 for those graduating before September 1, 2004) in a baccalaureate degree program, higher degree program or a State-approved post-baccalaureate certification program with a minimum of 13 semester-hour credits. Please note that a high praxis test score may offset a GPA that is lower than 2.75 but higher than 2.50. Click on the following link for more details: http://www.nj.gov/education/educators/license/gpa.htm Subject Matter Preparation; For certification as a P-3 teacher, completion of a major in the liberal arts, sciences, or a minimum of 60 liberal arts credits is required. A Liberal arts major means any college major such as philosophy, history, literature, sociology, science, mathematics, or world language that is intended primarily to provide general knowledge and to develop an individual's general intellectual capacities to reason and evaluate, as opposed to professional or vocational skills. The final determination as to which courses will be counted towards the subject matter is based on professional and content standards found in the NJ Licensing Code. All credits must appear on a regionally accredited 2 OR 4 year college/university transcript. Praxis II Test Requirement: EarlyChildhood: Content Knowledge (0022 or 5022), 159 24-Hour Requirement (P-3) Effective September 1, 2009, eligibility for the Preschool through Grade Three Certificate of Eligibility will require applicants to demonstrate knowledge of basic pedagogy skills appropriate to preschool education prior to the issuance of a certificate. The requirement may be met through successful completion of a minimum of 24 hours of study offered through a state-approved provider or through approved coursework at a NJ State-approved college as documented on a transcript. If submitting a Certificate of Completion for the 24 hour pre-service to meet this requirement, only original documentation will be accepted. Physiology and Hygiene Requirement; This requirement may be completed by presenting evidence of basic military training, OR by completing a course such as biology, health or nutrition that appears on a regionally accredited 2 or 4 year college or university transcript, OR by completing a 35 question True/False test administered in the county office of education. Please go to http://www.nj.gov/education/educators/license/county.htm in order to contact a county office of education after you apply online.

Early Childhood Special Educator

Discipline Early Childhood Special Educator
License/Certificate Students with Disabilities
State Department New Jersey Department of Education
State Department Hyperlink http://www.state.nj.us/cgi-bin/education/license/endorsement.pl?string=999&maxhits=1000&field=2
Type of License/Certificate Licensure/Certificate
Age Range 3 yrs - 12th grade
Degree Level Requirement Bachelor's
Licensure Specific Curriculum/Coursework 1. A program at a regionally accredited college or university that includes a range of 21 to 27 credit hours of formal instruction in the following topics: i. Philosophical, historical and legal foundations of special education; ii. Characteristics of students with disabilities; iii. Standardized and functional assessment; iv. Strategies for the development of literacy; v. Curriculum planning, learning environments, modifications and materials for students with disabilities; vi. Inclusive education practices, positive behavioral supports, communication and collaborative partnerships; vii. Assistive technology; and viii. Transition planning, program development and agencies available for students with disabilities.
Licensure Require Specific Field or Clinical Work? 1. A range of 21 to 27 semester hour credits of instruction in areas listed in N.J.A.C. 6A:9-11.3(g)2. The professional component of the undergraduate program shall, beginning in the sophomore year, provide students with practical experiences in a special education setting. These opportunities shall increase in intensity and duration as the student advances through the program and culminate with a special education student teaching experience; and 2. The student teaching experience shall include a special education component.
Additional requirements specific to Part C? Is called special educator" for birth to three: Bachelor's degree or higher; AND certified by the New Jersey Department of Education as a Teacher with an endorsement as a Teacher of Students with Disabilities pursuant to N.J.S.A. and N.J.A.C.; AND has at least one year of documented professional experience with individuals from birth to five years of age who have developmental delays and disabilities; OR at least six (6) credits in infant and toddler or early childhood development."
Alternative Route Provisional or temporary The Alternate Route program is a non-traditional teacher preparation program designed for those individuals who HAVE NOT completed a formal teacher preparation program at an accredited college or university, but wish to obtain the necessary training to become a NJ certified teacher. CE (Alternate Route) - The Certificate of Eligibility (CE) is a credential with lifetime validity issued to an individual who has NOT completed a teacher preparation program, but who has met the basic requirements for certification including academic study and applicable test requirements. The CE authorizes an individual to seek and accept employment in NJ public schools requiring certification. 24 Hour Requirement; Effective October 31, 2009, eligibility for the elementary school Certificate of Eligibility or instructional area. Certificate of Eligibility requires candidates to demonstrate knowledge of basic pedagogical skills appropriate to the area of endorsement prior to the issuance of a certificate. The requirement may be met through successful completion of a minimum of 24 hours of study offered through a state-approved provider or through approved coursework at a NJ State-approved college as documented on a transcript. If submitting a Certificate of Completion for the 24 hour pre-service to meet this requirement, only original documentation will be accepted.

Family Therapist

Discipline Family Therapist
License/Certificate Licensed Marriage and Family Therapist
State Department New Jersey State Board of Marriage and Family Therapy Examiners, Division of Consumer Affairs, Department of Law Public Safety
State Department Hyperlink http://njpublicsafety.com/ca/mft/know.htm
Type of License/Certificate Licensure/Certificate
Age Range Birth - Death
Degree Level Requirement Master's
Licensure Specific Curriculum/Coursework An applicant for licensure shall satisfy the following required areas of course work: 1) Area I: Theoretical Foundations (a minimum of two, three semester hour or equivalent quarter hour, courses.) Course work in this area shall include topics which deal with the historical development, theoretical foundations and contemporary conceptual directions of the field of marriage and family therapy. Course work in this area shall enable students to conceptualize and distinguish the critical epistemological issues in marriage and family therapy. Course work shall be related conceptually to clinical concerns. 2) Area II: Clinical Practice (a minimum of four, three semester hour or equivalent quarter hour, courses.) Course work in this area shall provide a comprehensive survey and substantive understanding of the major models of marriage and family therapy. Courses shall address marriage and family therapy practice and be related conceptually to theory. Course work in this area shall address a wide variety of presenting clinical problems and include assessment, marriage and family therapy methods and major mental health assessment methods and instruments. 3)Area III: Individual Development and Family Relations (a minimum of two, three semester hour or equivalent quarter hour, courses.) Course work in this area shall include: i) Material on individual development, family development and family relationships; ii) Material on issues of sexuality as they relate to marriage and family therapy theory and practice, including sexual dysfunctions and difficulties; iii) Issues of gender and sexual orientation as they relate to marriage and family therapy theory and practice; an iv) Material on issues of ethnicity, race, socioeconomic status and culture as they relate to marriage and family therapy theory and practice. 4) Area IV: Professional Identity and Ethics (a minimum of one, three semester hour or equivalent quarter hour, course.) Course work in this area shall include material on professional identity, including professional socialization, professional organizations, licensure, certification and ethical issues related to the practice and profession of marriage and family therapy. Generic courses in ethics shall not meet this requirement. Such course work shall inform applicants about legal responsibilities and liabilities of clinical practice and research, family law, confidentiality issues, ethics and the interface between therapist responsibility and the professional, social and political context of treatment. 5)Area V: Research (a minimum of one, three semester hour or equivalent quarter hour, course.) Course work in this area shall include significant material on quantitative and qualitative research in marriage and family therapy. Course work in this area shall focus on research methodology, data analysis and the evaluation of research. 6) Area VI: Additional Learning (a minimum of one, three semester hour or equivalent quarter hour, course.) Course work in this area shall be elective and chosen from a variety of disciplines. This area shall seek to augment an applicant's individual interest and background in marriage and family therapy. The applicant may choose courses from a variety of disciplines. An applicant for licensure shall complete a minimum of: 1) Eight courses from Areas I, II and III; 2) One course from Area IV; 3) One course from Area V; and 4) One course taken in one semester from Area VI.
Licensure Require Specific Field or Clinical Work? An applicant shall have three years of full-time counseling experience, or its equivalent, of a character approved by the board, two years of which shall have been in marriage and family therapy. two of the three required years shall have been under the supervision of a person meeting the education requirement and who has himself had no less than five full-time years of professional experience or the equivalent. For those with a master's degree, one of the three required years can occur before the applicant has earned the master's degree, and for those with a post-master's or doctoral degree, two of the three required years can occur before the applicant has earned the post-master's or doctoral degree.
Licensure Dependent on an Exam? The national licensing exam, which is administered by the Association of Marriage and Family Therapy Regulatory Boards (A.M.F.T.R.B.). Cannot find the passing score.

Nurse

Discipline Nurse
License/Certificate Registered nurses
State Department New Jersey Board of Nursing, Division of Consumer Affairs, Department of Public Law and Safety.
State Department Hyperlink http://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/nur
Type of License/Certificate Licensure/Certificate
Age Range Birth - Death
Degree Level Requirement Not Specified
Licensure Specific Curriculum/Coursework The nursing curriculum of all professional nursing education programs shall include: 1. Content in the sciences, social sciences and humanities; and 2. Nursing courses and clinical experiences in a variety of settings that include: i. The promotion, restoration and maintenance of health across the lifespan; ii. Critical thinking; iii. The nursing practice act, N.J.S.A. 45:11-23 et seq., and Board rules, N.J.A.C. 13:37; iv. Legal and ethical issues; v. Cultural implications for practice; vi. The structure and economics of the health care delivery system; vii. Delegation to, and supervision of, licensed practical nurses and unlicensed assistive personnel; viii. Management and leadership; ix. Interdisciplinary collaboration; x. Pain management and end of life issues; xi. Socialization to the role of the professional nurse; and xii. Organ and tissue donation and recovery designed to address clinical aspects of the donation and recovery process.
Licensure Require Specific Field or Clinical Work? Mentioned "clinical experience". Nursing courses and clinical experiences in a variety of settings that include: i. The promotion, restoration and maintenance of health across the lifespan; ii. Critical thinking; iii. The nursing practice act, N.J.S.A. 45:11-23 et seq., and Board rules, N.J.A.C. 13:37; iv. Legal and ethical issues; v. Cultural implications for practice; vi. The structure and economics of the health care delivery system; vii. Delegation to, and supervision of, licensed practical nurses and unlicensed assistive personnel; viii. Management and leadership; ix. Interdisciplinary collaboration; x. Pain management and end of life issues; xi. Socialization to the role of the professional nurse; and xii. Organ and tissue donation and recovery designed to address clinical aspects of the donation and recovery process."
Licensure Dependent on an Exam? Shall pass either the National Council Licensure Examination for Registered Nurses (NCLEX-RN)
Additional requirements specific to Part C? Licensed Registered Nurse, State of New Jersey Department of Law and Public Safety, Division of Consumer Affairs, Board of Nursing pursuant to N.J.S.A. and N.J.A.C.; AND preferably has at least one year documented professional experience with individuals birth to five years of age and their families.
Additional requirements specific for schools? Is called school nurse": 1. Bachelor's Degree Requirement-A bachelor's degree is required; 2. CPR & AED Certificate(s)-A current cardiopulmonary resuscitation and automated external defibrillators certificate is required; 3. Airway Management-Completion of training in airway management and the use of nebulizers and inhalers consistent with nationally recognized standards, including, but not limited to those of the National Institutes of Health and the American Academy of Allergy, Asthma, and Immunology; 4. Required Study-

Occupational Therapist

Discipline Occupational Therapist
License/Certificate Occupational therapist
State Department New Jersey Occupational Therapy Advisory Council, Division of Consumer Affairs, Department of Public Law and Safety.
State Department Hyperlink http://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/ot
Type of License/Certificate Licensure/Certificate
Age Range Birth - Death
Degree Level Requirement Bachelor's
Licensure Require Specific Field or Clinical Work? Have successfully completed at least 24 weeks of supervised fieldwork experience approved by the educational institution at which the applicant completed the occupational therapy education program in accordance with (a) 3i and ii above
Licensure Dependent on an Exam? Have successfully completed the certification examination administered by the National Board for Certification in Occupational Therapy (NBCOT), 450.
Additional requirements specific to Part C? Licensed Occupational Therapist, State of New Jersey Department of Law and Public Safety, Division of Consumer Affairs, Occupational Therapy Advisory Council pursuantto N.J.S.A. and N.J.A.C.; AND preferably has at least one year of documented professional experience with individuals from birth to five years of age who have developmental delays and disabilities
Additional requirements specific for schools? To be eligible for the School Occupational Therapist Standard, you must complete all of the following: Bachelor's Degree Requirement - A bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited college is required. Occupational Therapy Study - Completion of a program in occupational therapy from an approved school is required. NJ Occupational License - A currently valid license issued by the New Jersey Occupational Therapy Advisory Council. Please submit a copy of the license.

Physical Therapist

Discipline Physical Therapist
License/Certificate Physical therapists
State Department New Jersey State Board of Physical Therapy Examiners, Division of Consumer Affairs, Department of Public Law and Safety.
State Department Hyperlink http://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/pt
Type of License/Certificate Licensure/Certificate
Age Range Birth - Death
Degree Level Requirement Master's
Licensure Dependent on an Exam? 1. The National Physical Therapy Examination for Physical Therapists, 600. 2. State jurisprudence examination: 80.
Additional requirements specific to Part C? Licensed Physical Therapist, State of New Jersey Department of Law and Public Safety, Division of Consumer Affairs, Board of Physical Therapy pursuant to N.J.S.A. andN.J.A.C.; AND preferably has at least one year of documented professional experience with individuals from birth to five years of age with developmental delays and disabilities.
Additional requirements specific for schools? To be eligible for the School Physical Therapist Standard, you must complete all of the following: Bachelor's Degree Requirement - A bachelor's degree from a regionally accredited college is required. Physical Therapy Study - Completion of a program in physical therapy from an approved school is required. NJ Physical Therapy License - A currently valid license issued by the New Jersey Board of Physical Therapy. A copy of your license is required.

Psychologist

Discipline Psychologist
License/Certificate Psychologists
State Department New Jersey State Board of Psychological Examiners, Division of Consumer Affairs, Department of Public Law and Safety.
State Department Hyperlink http://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/psy
Type of License/Certificate Licensure/Certificate
Age Range Birth - Death
Degree Level Requirement Doctorate's
Licensure Specific Curriculum/Coursework The doctoral degree must be based upon at least 40 doctoral credit hours earned specifically within the field of psychology and within a doctoral program requiring personal attendance at the degree-granting institution that meets the requirements of (f) below. Thirty-six of the required 40 credit hours shall be distributed across the following areas of graduate study: 1) Personality Theory and Human Development Theory: six credits; 2) Learning Theory and/or Physiological Psychology: six credits; 3) Psychological Measurement and Psychological Assessment: six credits; 4) Psychopathology: six credits; 5) Psychological therapy/counseling or Industrial/Organizational Psychology: six credits; and 6) Research and Statistical Design: six credits. The applicant shall submit evidence of an additional 20 credit hours, also specifically in the field of psychology, but which were not necessarily obtained as part of the doctoral program. The additional 20 credits can have been granted at a pre-doctoral or post-doctoral graduate level and must have been obtained as part of an educational program in a regionally accredited institution. The Board may, in its discretion, recognize up to six credits for a dissertation which is psychological in nature. The six credits may be used either to satisfy the requirement of having at least 40 doctoral credit hours specifically within the field of psychology and earned within a doctoral program, or to satisfy a credit deficiency in one or more of the required distribution areas of doctoral study.
Licensure Require Specific Field or Clinical Work? An applicant for licensure shall be required to document the competent performance of at least two years of full time or full time equivalent supervised experience in the practice of psychology, at least one year of which shall have been completed subsequent to the applicant's receipt of his or her doctoral degree. The equivalent of one year of full-time supervised experience shall be a minimum of 1,750 hours. The 1,750 hours shall include: 1) One thousand client contact hours completed in accordance with the limitations provided in N.J.A.C. 13:42-3.6(f); 2) Two hundred hours of supervision. At least 100 hours shall be individual face-to-face supervision; the remaining 100 hours may be individual or group supervision. The ratio shall be one hour of supervision for each five hours of client contact per week; and 3) Five hundred fifty hours in other work-related activities such as recordkeeping, consultations, report writing, etc.
Licensure Dependent on an Exam? a) A candidate who has been admitted to sit for examination shall take the Examination for Professional Practice in Psychology sponsored by the Association of State and Provincial Psychology Boards (ASPPB). A passing score shall be that as established by the ASPPB at the time of the examination. Pass: 70% on paper and pencil exam 500 on computerized exam http://www.asppb.org/HandbookPublic/handbookreview.aspx b) A candidate who passes the written examination shall then take an oral examination of his or her professional practice based on a work sample in accord with guidelines to be supplied to the candidate by the Board

School Psychologist

Discipline School Psychologist
License/Certificate School Psychologist
State Department New Jersey Department of Education
State Department Hyperlink http://www.state.nj.us/cgi-bin/education/license/endorsement.pl?string=999&maxhits=1000&field=2
Type of License/Certificate Licensure/Certificate
Age Range 3 yrs - 12th grade
Degree Level Requirement Master's
Licensure Specific Curriculum/Coursework A New Jersey State-approved graduate curriculum in school psychology with a minimum of 60 graduate semester-hour credits in the required areas listed below. 1. Educational foundations/school psychology practice and development: A minimum of 12 semester hour credits to include areas such as the role and function of the school psychologist, multicultural education, educational organization and leadership, curriculum development and learning theories. 2. Education of students with disabilities: A minimum of 6 semester hour credits to include areas such as education and/or psychology of students with disabilities and educational assessment of disabled students. 3. Assessment, intervention and research: A minimum of 18 semester hour credits to include study in the required areas of cognitive assessment, personality assessment and school consultation. Additional study may be completed in areas such as applied behavior analysis, school interventions, curriculum-based measurement, multicultural counseling or individual counseling procedures, tests and measurements, statistics and research design and analysis. 4. Human behavioral development: A minimum of 12 semester hour credits to include study in areas such as human development, social psychology, personality psychology, neurological and/or physiological basis of behavior and psychopathology. 5. Elective study: Elective study may include additional graduate study in educational foundations/school psychology practice and development, education of students with disabilities, assessment, intervention and research. Externships and practicum experiences may also be accepted for elective study toward the required 60 credit minimum.
Licensure Require Specific Field or Clinical Work? 1. A practicum of 300 clock hours that consists of a sequence of closely supervised on campus and field-based activities designed to develop and evaluate a candidate�s mastery of distinct professional skills consistent with program and/or course goals. Credit for the practicum experience must be listed on the graduate transcript of a regionally accredited college or university. 2. An externship of 1,200 clock hours. A minimum of 600 clock hours must be completed in a school setting with school age children. The remaining 600 clock hours may be completed in a school or clinical setting or may be completed under an emergency certificate while concurrently participating in an approved college or university school psychology program. Externship experiences completed in a school setting must be supervised by a person holding a standard New Jersey or out-of-state school psychologist certificate. The externship must be taken under the direction of a regionally accredited college or university as part of a program for the preparation of school psychologists.

Social Worker – Certified Social Workers (CSW)

Discipline Social Worker
License/Certificate Certified social workers (CSW)
State Department New Jersey State Board of Social Work Examiners, Division of Consumer Affairs, Department of Public Law and Safety.
State Department Hyperlink http://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/sw
Type of License/Certificate Licensure/Certificate
Age Range Birth - Death
Degree Level Requirement Bachelor's

Social Worker – Licensed Clinical (LCSW)

Discipline Social Worker
License/Certificate Licensed clinical social worker (LCSW)
State Department New Jersey Board of Social Work Examiners, Division of Consumer Affairs, Department of Public Law and Safety.
State Department Hyperlink http://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/sw
Type of License/Certificate Licensure/Certificate
Age Range Birth - Death
Degree Level Requirement Master's
Licensure Specific Curriculum/Coursework Completed 12 semester hours of graduate level course work in methods of clinical social work practice, exclusive of field placement, from an educational program accredited, or in candidacy for accreditation, by the Council on Social Work Education. The applicant shall obtain 12 credits in any of the following areas of study: (1) Human behavior and the social environment; (2) Diagnosis and assessment in social work practice; (3) Models of psychotherapy or clinical practice (for example, psychodynamic, behavioral, cognitive therapies, task-centered, psychosocial, crisis intervention approaches, etc.); (4) Clinical supervision and consultation; and/or (5) Intervention with special populations;
Licensure Dependent on an Exam? Has successfully completed the clinical examination administered by the ASWB. All ASWB examination scores are reported as pass/fail, with the number of questions needed to pass the examination, and because test questions change from one administration to the next, statistical adjustments must be made to account for small differences in the overall difficulty of individual examinations.

Social Worker – Licensed Social Workers (LSW)

Discipline Social Worker
License/Certificate Licensed social workers (LSW)
State Department New Jersey Board of Social Work Examiners, Division of Consumer Affairs, Department of Public Law and Safety.
State Department Hyperlink http://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/sw
Type of License/Certificate Licensure/Certificate
Age Range Birth - Death
Degree Level Requirement Master's
Licensure Dependent on an Exam? Successful completion of the master's level examination administered by the ASWB. All ASWB examination scores are reported as pass/fail, with the number of questions needed to pass the examination, and because test questions change from one administration to the next, statistical adjustments must be made to account for small differences in the overall difficulty of individual examinations.

Social Worker – School

Discipline Social Worker
License/Certificate School Social Worker
State Department New Jersey Department of Education
State Department Hyperlink http://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/sw
Type of License/Certificate Licensure/Certificate
Age Range 3 yrs - 12th grade
Degree Level Requirement Master's
Licensure Specific Curriculum/Coursework As per N.J.A.C. 6A:9-13.5 (b), 30 graduate semester-hour credits including eight areas of study are required: 1. Psychology, including general psychology, educational psychology, psychology of adolescence and child growth and development. 2. Special Education and/or learning disabilities. 3. Social Problems, including study in dealing with delinquency, poverty, interracial and intercultural problems. 4. A minimum of 6 semester-hour credits in introductory and advanced level social case work, including principles and practices in social case work, interviewing, and methods and skills in diagnosis. 5. Mental hygiene and social psychiatry, including dynamics of human behavior and psychopathology. 6. Medical information, including the role of the social worker in health problems or fundamentals of substance abuse and dependency. 7. Community organizations, agencies and resources. 8. Social policy and public welfare services, including the care and protection of at-risk children and families.

Speech Language Pathologist

Discipline Speech Language Pathologist
License/Certificate Speech-Language Pathologist
State Department New Jersey Audiology and Speech-Language Pathology Advisory Committee, Division of Consumer Affairs, Department of Law and Public Safety
State Department Hyperlink http://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/aud
Type of License/Certificate Licensure/Certificate
Age Range Birth - Death
Degree Level Requirement Doctorate's
Licensure Specific Curriculum/Coursework For bachelors and masters level of applicant, they shall complete 75 hours of academic credit dealing with the normal aspects of human communication, development and disorders thereof and clinical techniques for evaluation and management of such disorders. The 75 hours of academic credit shall consist of: 1) At least 27 hours in basic science courses as follows: i) Biological/physical science: three hours; ii) College-level mathematics: three hours; iii) Behavioral and/or social sciences: six hours; and iv) Basic human communication processes, including course work in the anatomic and physiological bases of speech, language and hearing; the physical and psychosocial bases of speech, language and hearing; and the linguistic and psycholinguistic aspects of speech, language and hearing: 15 hours; 2) At least 36 hours in courses that concern the nature, prevention, evaluation and treatment of speech, language and hearing disorders that primarily affect children and hearing disorders that primarily affect adults. At least 30 of the 36 hours shall be in courses for which graduate credit was received, at least 21 of which shall be in the area in which licensure is sought. In addition: For a license in speech-language pathology, at least 30 hours of the 36 hours shall be in speech-language pathology, of which at least six shall be in speech disorders and at least six shall be in language disorders. At least six hours shall be in audiology, three of which shall be in hearing disorders and hearing evaluation, and three of which shall be in habilitative/rehabilitative procedures with individuals who have a hearing impairment; 3) Twelve hours in any field, which may include courses that are related to the clinical practice of speech-language pathology.
Licensure Dependent on an Exam? National Teachers' Examinations in speech and language pathology administered and set by the Educational Testing Service, 600
Additional requirements specific to Part C? Besides a SLP license, has at least one year documented professional experience with individuals from birth to five years of age who have developmental delays and disabilities

Speech Language Specialist

Discipline Speech Language Pathologist
License/Certificate Speech Language Specialist
State Department New Jersey Department of Education
State Department Hyperlink http://www.state.nj.us/cgi-bin/education/license/endorsement.pl?string=Educational%20Services%20Certificates&maxhits=1000&field=1&type=es
Type of License/Certificate Licensure/Certificate
Age Range 3 yrs - 12th grade
Degree Level Requirement Master's
Licensure Specific Curriculum/Coursework Bachelors in speech-language pathology/communication disorder: Document completion of a minimum of 18 semester-hour graduate credits in speech language pathology/communication disorders, including a graduate clinical practicum. Bachelors not in speech-language pathology/communication disorder: Document completion of a minimum of 24 semester-hour graduate credits in speech language pathology/communication disorders, including a graduate clinical practicum.
Licensure Require Specific Field or Clinical Work? Bachelors in speech-language pathology/communication disorder: Document completion of a minimum of 18 semester-hour graduate credits in speech language pathology/communication disorders, including a graduate clinical practicum. Bachelors not in speech-language pathology/communication disorder: Document completion of a minimum of 24 semester-hour graduate credits in speech language pathology/communication disorders, including a graduate clinical practicum.
Licensure Dependent on an Exam? A passing score on a State-approved test of comprehensive knowledge in the field of speech-language pathology. Currently this test is the Praxis II Speech language Pathology test #20330, 550.

Vision Specialist

Discipline Vision Specialist
License/Certificate Blind or Visually Impaired
State Department New Jersey Department of Education
State Department Hyperlink http://www.state.nj.us/cgi-bin/education/license/endorsement.pl?string=999&maxhits=1000&field=2
Type of License/Certificate Licensure/Certificate
Age Range 3 yrs - 12th grade
Degree Level Requirement Bachelor's
Licensure Specific Curriculum/Coursework A program at a regionally accredited college or university that includes a range of 21 to 27 credit hours of formal instruction in the following topics: i. Philosophical, historical and legal issues in the education of students who are blind/visually impaired; ii. Anatomy, physiology and characteristics of students who are blind/visually impaired; iii. Standardized and functional assessment of students who are blind/visually impaired; iv. Strategies and materials for developing literacy and numeracy skills in students who are blind or visually impaired including Braille and Nemeth codes; v. Curriculum planning, learning environments, modifications and materials for students who are blind/visually impaired; vi. Inclusive education practices, positive behavioral supports, communication and collaborative partnerships; vii. Assistive technology and augmentative communication systems for students who are blind or visually impaired; viii. Orientation and mobility concepts and techniques; and ix. Transition planning, program services and agencies available for students who are blind/visually impaired.
Licensure Require Specific Field or Clinical Work? 1. A range of 21 to 27 semester hour credits of instruction in areas listed in N.J.A.C. 6A:9-11.3(f)2. The professional component of the undergraduate program shall, beginning in the sophomore year, provide students with practical experiences in a special education setting. These opportunities shall increase in intensity and duration as the student advances through the program and culminate with a special education student teaching experience; and 2. The student teaching experience shall include a special education component.
Additional requirements specific to Part C? Special Educator/Visually Impaired/Blindness: Bachelor's degree or higher; AND certified by the NJ Department of Education as a Teacher with an endorsement as a Teacher of the Blind or Visually Impaired pursuant to N.J.S.A. and N.J.A.C.; AND has at least one year of documented professional experience with individuals from birth to five years of age who have developmental delays and disabilities; OR at least six (6) credits in infant and toddler or early childhood development.
Alternative Route Provisional or temporary The Alternate Route program is a non-traditional teacher preparation program designed for those individuals who HAVE NOT completed a formal teacher preparation program at an accredited college or university, but wish to obtain the necessary training to become a NJ certified teacher. CE (Alternate Route) - The Certificate of Eligibility (CE) is a credential with lifetime validity issued to an individual who has NOT completed a teacher preparation program, but who has met the basic requirements for certification including academic study and applicable test requirements. The CE authorizes an individual to seek and accept employment in NJ public schools requiring certification. Praxis II Test Requirement; There is no Praxis test requirement for this certificate. 24 Hour Requirement; Effective October 31, 2009, eligibility for the elementary school Certificate of Eligibility or instructional area Certificate of Eligibility requires candidates to demonstrate knowledge of basic pedagogical skills appropriate to the area of endorsement prior to the issuance of a certificate. The requirement may be met through successful completion of a minimum of 24 hours of study offered through a state-approved provider or through approved coursework at a NJ State-approved college as documented on a transcript. If submitting a Certificate of Completion for the 24 hour pre-service to meet this requirement, only original documentation will be accepted.